Arizona does not have overtime laws that are different from federal law. Additional information on federal overtime law is available at //www.workplacefairness.org/overtime.
The Arizona state minimum wage is $10.50 per hour, which is higher than the federal rate of $7.25 per hour. Employers, however, can use tips and gratuities to reduce the minimum wage required to $7.50.
Arizona does not have any meal or rest break requirements.
You cannot file a wage/hour or labor standards claim in Arizona unless you have worked and not received your pay. When wages owed to an employee are no more than $2,500.00 and the accrual of those unpaid wages does not exceed one year, the employee may file a wage claim with the State Department of Labor. Upon receipt of a claim, the Department will notify the employer of the claim and investigate the case. After investigation of the claim, the Department will provide a written determination that can only be appealed to superior court. An employer who does not comply with a Final Order within ten days after the Order becomes final is liable for treble the amount of the unpaid wages found to be owed. Employees also have the option of filing in the civil courts; however, they cannot file with both the State Labor Department and the civil courts.
Arizona Wage Complaint form:http://www.ica.state.az.us/labor/Forms/Labor_WagClm_WageClaim.pdf
© 2018 Workplace Fairness