Georgia does not have overtime laws that are different from federal law. Additional information on federal overtime law is available at http://www.workplacefairness.org/overtime.
The current minimum wage in Georgia is $5.15 per hour, and applies to employees not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Otherwise, Georgia's minimum wage payment is equal to the federal minimum wage of $7.25.
Georgia does not have any meal or rest break requirements.
There are strict time limits in which minimum wage claims must be filed. You must file within three years from the date that the claim arose.As you might have other legal claims with shorter deadlines, do not wait to file your claim until your time limit is close to expiring.
In Georgia, an employee can file a private lawsuit if he or she is paid less than the minimum wage to recover past compensation, liquidated damages, attorney's fees and costs.
State Labor Agency
Georgia has no state agency that enforces wage and hour laws; see the local DOL offices below.
© 2018 Workplace Fairness