Idaho does not have overtime laws that are different from federal law. Additional information on federal overtime law is available at //www.workplacefairness.org/overtime.
The current minimum wage in Idaho is $8.25 per hour, which is equal to the federal minimum wage of $7.25. Employers, however, can use tips and gratuities to reduce the minimum wage required to $3.35 per hour.
The following employees may be paid at a rate below the minimum wage:
Employees in executive, administrative, professional or agricultural activities are exempt from the minimum wage requirement. The following employees are also exempt from the minimum wage requirement:
Idaho does not have any meal or rest break requirements.
You can file a wage claim with the Idaho Department of Commerce and Labor's Wage & Hour Section. This can be done by filling out a Wage Claim Form available at http://labor.idaho.gov/pdf/statement_of_claim.pdf. The filing should include as much information and documentation as possible. This process can be completed with or without an attorney.
If you have a wage/hour complaint, do not delay in contacting the Wage & Hour Section to file a claim. There are strict time limits in which wage claims must be filed. In order for the agency to act on your behalf, you must file the complaint within two years from the date that the claim arose.
As you might have other legal claims with shorter deadlines, do not wait to file your claim until your time limit is close to expiring. You may wish to consult with an attorney prior to filing your claim, if possible. Yet if you are unable to find an attorney who will assist you, it is not necessary to have an attorney to file your claim.
In Idaho, employees can file a private lawsuit to recover unpaid wages, liquidated damages, attorney's fees and costs.
© 2018 Workplace Fairness