Like federal law, New Mexico law requires that any individual working more than 40 hours in any given workweek must be paid one and one-half times the regular hourly rate of pay for those extra hours. Anyone who is excluded from New Mexico's minimum wage requirements (see #2 below for the entire list) is also excluded from the overtime requirements.
The following employees covered under federal law for overtime are not covered under New Mexico law:
The following individuals not covered under federal law for overtime are covered under New Mexico law:
New Mexico's minimum wage is $7.50 per hour. New Mexico's minimum wage is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
Employers need only pay a lower rate of 2.13 per hour to tipped employees who customarily and regularly receive more than $30.00 per month in tips.
An employer who supplies food, utilities, supplies, or housing to an employee engaged in agriculture is allowed to deduct the reasonable cost of those items from the wages of the employee, even if that brings the employee's wages under the minimum wage.
The following individuals are not considered "employees" under New Mexico's Minimum Wage Act, and therefore are not covered by the minimum wage (or overtime) requirements:
Those with an asterisk (*) are not exempt under federal law. That means that those individuals are covered by the federal minimum wage but not by the state minimum wage. Any employee not listed above who is exempt under federal law is covered under New Mexico's minimum wage requirement. (Note, however, that computer professionals, who are exempt under federal law, may also be exempt under New Mexico's professional exemption).
No, there is nothing under New Mexico state law that requires an employer to give meal or rest breaks.
Under state law in New Mexico, employers may not make any deductions from an employee's salary except those that are required by law (e.g. taxes, court orders), and those which the employee has agreed to, in writing, at the time of employment.
If you cannot afford a lawyer, you can file a wage claim with the New Mexico Department of Labor's Labor and Industrial Division; however, you must attempt to resolve the situation by asking your employer for the wages owed to you. You file a claim by filling out a Wage Claim Form. The form and more information about filing a claim can be found at http://www.dws.state.nm.us/dws-wagecl.html. The Division can hold a hearing regarding your claim or, if necessary, bring a lawsuit on your behalf. If your employer has failed to pay you the minimum wage or your overtime pay, and the Division brings your case to court, the court may award you twice what your employer owes you.
Do not delay in contacting the New Mexico Department of Labor's Labor and Industrial Division to file a claim if you cannot afford an attorney. There are strict time limits in which charges of wage-and-hour violations must be filed. In order for that agency to act on your behalf, you must file with the Division as soon as possible. There is no deadline to file a wage claim with the Labor and Industrial Division, but you should not wait once you have a valid claim. Doing so may prevent the Division from taking action on your behalf in state court (see #7 for statutes of limitation on court actions).
If you are able to afford an attorney, the appropriate way for you to pursue a wage claim is to file it in court; you can file either with a Magistrate or in Metropolitan Court. If your claim is based on a failure to pay minimum wage or overtime, a court can order that your employer pay you double what is owed to you, as well as costs and attorneys' fees. If it is another kind of wage-and-hour claim, it is less clear what the court can award you beyond what you are owed; you should consult with your attorney about this issue. The statute of limitations for overtime claims is one year. There is no specific statute of limitations for other wage-and-hour claims, implying that the general statute of limitations of four years may apply. However, this is not certain and you should discuss this with your lawyer.
State Labor Agency
The following is the contact information of the regional offices of the Wage and Hour Bureau of the New Mexico Department of Labor's Labor and Industry Division:
625 Silver St. SW Suite 410.
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone: (505) 841-4400
Fax: (505) 841-4422
Las Cruces Office
226 South Alameda
Las Cruces, NM 88006
Phone: (575) 524-6195
Fax: (505) 524-6194
Santa Fe Office
1596 Pacheco St.
Santa Fe, NM 87502
Phone: (505) 827-6817
Fax: (505) 827-9676
You can visit the state Department of Labor's website for more information: http://www.dws.state.nm.us/.
© 2018 Workplace Fairness