Under West Virginia law, employers must pay one and one-half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours a week. This overtime requirement applies to any employer that employs six or more employees in any one separate, distinct and permanent location
The minimum wage in West Virginia is $8.75 per hour, which is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
Employers are permitted to pay a lower training wage to employees less than 20 years of age for a period of 90 days.
Tipped employees' tips may supply up to 20% of their minimum wage; in other words, if an employee makes at least $1.31 in tips per hour, her/his employer only has to pay a cash wage of $5.24 per hour. Employers may also count the reasonable cost of furnishing meals or lodging against the minimum wage.
Tipped employees must be paid at least 70% of the minimum wage, as long as their total earnings add up to the minimum wage per hour. In other words, tipped employees must be paid at least $6.13 per hour starting January 1, 2016. If combined with tips the employee does not make minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference.
West Virginia's minimum wage law applies to employers that employ six or more employees in any one separate, distinct and permanent location.
West Virginia law requires employers to allow a twenty (20) minute meal break to those employees working at least a six (6) hour shift.
The Wage and Hour Section of the West Virginia Division of Labor handles wage and hour complaints. The form for filing a complaint can be found at http://www.wvlabor.com/newwebsite/Documents/wageforms/newer%20forms/WAGE%20CLAIM%20PROCESS%20INTERNET%20INFO%20updated%20to%20match%20new%20RFAdoc.pdf.
If you have a wage/hour complaint, do not delay in contacting Labor Standards or an attorney. There are strict time limits in which wage claims must be filed. A claim for unpaid wages must be filed within two years of accrual.
Employees can bring an action in court to recover unpaid wages, and attorneys' fees and costs are recoverable. A claim for unpaid wages in court must be filed within two years of accrual.
State Labor Agency
Wage and Hour Section
West Virginia Division of Labor
Building 6, Room B-749
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
© 2018 Workplace Fairness