Alabama does not have overtime laws that are different from federal overtime law. State law enforcement officers, however, can choose to receive overtime pay.
Alabama does not have any laws establishing a state minimum wage. Therefore, the federal minimum wage applies, which is $7.25 per hour, or $2.13 per hour for tipped workers.
Do any cities or counties in Alabama have a minimum wage that is different from state or federal law?
In 2016, Alabama passed a law that stops any cities or counties in the state from passing their own minimum wage laws. Therefore, the federal minimum of $7.25 per hour, or $2.13 per hour for tipped workers, applies across the state.
Alabama does not have any laws regulating meal or rest break requirements.
You cannot file a wage/hour or labor standards claim in Alabama unless you have worked and not received your pay. Alabama does not enforce any wage and hour laws other than the state law pertaining to the payment of wages. The State of Alabama Department of Labor will investigate and attempt to collect on wage claims.
If you chose to file a claim your options are to contact an attorney or U.S. Wage and Hour Division offices:
Gulf Coast District Office
U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
950 22nd St N, Suite 605
Birmingham, AL 35203-3711
Mobile Alabama Area Office
1119 Government St
Mobile, AL 36609
Montgomery Area Office
1 Church St
Room D-500 B
Montgomery, AL 36104
If you have a claim for unpaid wages, do not delay in contacting the Alabama District Office for the U.S. Wage and Hour Division. If you contact the Alabama Department of Labor you will be directed to the U.S. Wage and Hour Division district office.These are strict time limits in which wage claims must be filed. It is unclear what time limit applies in Alabama.
For questions regarding wage and hour issues, please call: (334) 223-7450 or toll free at 1-866-487-9243
© 2024 Workplace Fairness