Alabama does not have overtime laws that are different from federal law. State law enforcement officers, however, can choose to receive overtime pay. Additional information on federal overtime law is available at http://www.workplacefairness.org/overtime.
The Alabama state minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, which is the same than the federal rate of $7.25 per hour.
Alabama does not have any meal or rest break requirements.
You cannot file a wage/hour or labor standards claim in Alabama unless you have worked and not received your pay. Alabama does not enforce any wage and hour laws other than the state law pertaining to the payment of wages. The State of Alabama Department of Labor will investigate and attempt to collect on wage claims. Additional information on filing a federal claim is available at http://www.workplacefairness.org/complaintpay.
If you have a claim for unpaid wages, do not delay in contacting the Alabama Department of Labor. These are strict time limits in which wage claims must be filed. It is unclear what time limit applies in Alabama.
© 2018 Workplace Fairness